Virtual Test Bed Help

GuldanGuldan Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
Ok guys I revamped my HTPC into a Virtual Server (using VMserver) by adding some more RAM.

I am studying for my MCITP:EA (70-642 or 70-640 first)

Any Tips? Also I can't buy keys obviously, can't use my company keys right? so do I just have the trial period to use the servers?

How many should I installed? 1 DC, 1 GC/?? + 1 EXCH later on possibly?

I will be using the self-paced guide for 70-642, just want to set this up on a basic level first (get OS's installed+networked)

Thanks!

Comments

• earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    If you're using the MS Press training kit it pretty much guides you along. Every chapter has a before you begin section and Chapter 1 of the 70-640 book is pretty much just an instruction on setting up your first DC. Your first DC will have AD DS installed and be a DNS and GC server. Most of your labs you'll just start with the first DC and a meber server (no roles, just joined to the domain)
    Like I said before I don't believe you'll have an exch server. At least you wont have one while studying for the 640 or 642.
    No longer work in IT. Play around with stuff sometimes still and fix stuff for friends and relatives.
  • GuldanGuldan Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
    earweed wrote: »
    If you're using the MS Press training kit it pretty much guides you along. Every chapter has a before you begin section and Chapter 1 of the 70-640 book is pretty much just an instruction on setting up your first DC. Your first DC will have AD DS installed and be a DNS and GC server. Most of your labs you'll just start with the first DC and a meber server (no roles, just joined to the domain)
    Like I said before I don't believe you'll have an exch server. At least you wont have one while studying for the 640 or 642.

So,

BOX #1 - Server 2008 as DC/ADDS/GC
    BOX #2 - Server 2008 as member (no roles)