Options

Cover letter for internal promototion oportunity

loss4wordsloss4words Member Posts: 165 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi guys,

I have gotten so much amazing and helpful feedback on this board, and everytime I have something like this I run here for help. I really hope that someone could help me this time around as well. Well, here's my situation: I have been working at my company for 6 months doing helpdesk/desktop support. I was hired in January, and it just so happened that one of our System Administrators was leaving for a month long vacation and I was given an opportunity to step in and work with a Systems Manager while this person was away on a part-time basis, while still working as a technician full-time.

It turned out to be an amazing experience and the manager is a great guy and has taught me a lot and I was able to help a little bit with what I could. When the System Administrator came back from vacation, I asked the IT Director if it would be ok if I continued working in the same position and keep learning, to which IT Director said that it would be ok "for the time being". Few days ago I learned that there's an open position for a System Administrator available within the company and I really wanted to apply. I even asked the director if it would be ok because I was worried my current supervisor may not like me leaving to a new position so soon after I started. The IT Director said that he had no problem with that and that I could apply. So, I edited my resume with things I have learned and what I have done while working with the company, but the cover letter is where I'm stuck.

How do I begin and what can I say? All I can think of are negative points for some reason: being with a company for only 6 months, no real life experience as Sys Admin other than what I've done in the past month and a half, and lack of education in the field as far as doing the job as a Sys Admin at least. How do I start and how would you write such a cover letter?

Thank you.