Spanning tree putting interfaces in err disable

TrifidwTrifidw Member Posts: 281
As I am studying for the BCMSN/switching exam this problem has interested me.

Below is a short example of the topology, with multilayer switch 1 as the root bridge. The switches at the top reside in a server rack connected redundantly at 10Gb. The switches to the right reside in another rack and the switch at the bottom is the access layer.

networkh.jpg

Originally the 10Gb switches were connected to multilayer switch 0 only. When they were connected to the root bridge as well, the 40Gb between the 2 cores went into error disable and spanning tree reconverged across the whole network.

Now I assume the BPDU's met at the 40Gb link and so is where it decided to stop the loop with out taking into consideration path costs to the root bridge and speed of the links?

If the 10Gb switches were connected to the root bridge first and then to the secondary, would the 40Gb link still have gone into error disable?

How would you go about ensuring the 40Gb link never goes into error disable/blocked due to spanning tree, while ensuring you never get a loop with the redundant network? Would BPDU filter on the port group ensure the loop is then blocked in the correct location (as shown in the picture)? The book states you should only enable it on ports that have a single host connected and loops are impossible. Which obviously isn't the case.

Comments

• billscott92787billscott92787 Member Posts: 933