Options

paying for A+, N+, and MCSA exam training in NYC sensible?

nogreengoo4unogreengoo4u Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
hi, so sorry as I'm a major newbie, but please help me out in what might be very basic..

I'm being given an offer of training for A+, N+, and MCSA exams (altogether) at a cost of $4,000

Around what should I be paying? Should I be paying anything? books are included

Comments

• Options
    qsubqsub Member Posts: 303
    I think A+, Net+ is easy to understand and study alone. You really don't need any hands on labs or anything like that.

Not sure about the Microsoft Cert.
    But personally, I wouldn't pay for training in A+, Net+.
    World Cup 2006 - Zidane - Never Forget.
  • Options
    12mcken12mcken Member Posts: 65 ■■□□□□□□□□
    hi, so sorry as I'm a major newbie, but please help me out in what might be very basic..

I'm being given an offer of training for A+, N+, and MCSA exams (altogether) at a cost of $4,000

Around what should I be paying? Should I be paying anything? books are included

No need for training for all three, only if you feel its absolutely necessary. I would agree with spfdz on N+ and A+ not requiring training, but MCSA is a different story. Wait until you pass the A+ and N+ before you decide to go through with training for MSCA, maybe you'll feel different after writing the A+ and N+ exams. At most, the least you'll end up spending would be around $550 for both A+ and N+ w/ books and exams.

FYI: There is only 3 exams required to obtain MSCA after you pass A+ and N+ if there are no further upgrades inbetween now and when you decide to take the MCSA, since the CompTIA exams would count as electives toward MCSA.
  • Options
    nogreengoo4unogreengoo4u Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks a lot, you've both been really great for responding.

I'm going to take a look at text books for A+ and N+ and figure out if I need the classroom assistance or not.