So I'm working on Net+

CodeBloxCodeBlox Member Posts: 1,363 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hello, I'm new here and see this as a great resource for exam prep. I'm getting my network+ cert soon but I have no work or hands on experience. Do you guys think this is a waste of time? I really want it but should i be getting hands on while I'm preparing? I do have a home network that I myself am in control of. Thanks for any replies!
Currently reading: Network Warrior, Unix Network Programming by Richard Stevens

Comments

• skylineskyline Member Posts: 135
    Waste of time?? Absolutely not! If you want it go and get it... Also don't discredit your home lab experience as exp. Its all the same. You can always offer your services if you want to branch out and get some more exposure.

Welcome to TE!
    Goals for '11
    MCITP: EA
    ITIL
    CCNA

Studying:
    MS press book 70-680
  • nicklauscombsnicklauscombs Member Posts: 885
    the CompTIA exams being entry level are geared exactly to people in your situation. plus if you pass it before the end of the year the cert will be good for life. good luck with your studies!
    WIP: IPS exam
  • DevilsbaneDevilsbane Member Posts: 4,214 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Welcome to TE.

Many will say to save your money and just do CCNA or CCENT. But I don't think anyone here would say that it is a waste of time. Very useful information that covers a very broad scope and will set you up to move onto pretty much any path that you would like.
    Decide what to be and go be it.
  • nicklauscombsnicklauscombs Member Posts: 885
    Devilsbane wrote: »
    Very useful information that covers a very broad scope and will set you up to move onto pretty much any path that you would like.

also very useful for getting past HR goons.
    WIP: IPS exam
  • RobertKaucherRobertKaucher Member Posts: 4,299 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Welcome to TE.