Does HUBS use ip addresses?

E1or0E1or0 Banned Posts: 58 ■■□□□□□□□□
I know it might sound dumb this question guys but as I'm studying with a couple of friends this question came to discussion, one of the guys stated that he went to a premise where his client had only a hub no router in between just the hub connecting several computers lets say 7 with static ip address assign, only 3 of them had the same ip address manually assign he was getting a pop up windows saying that there was a conflict of ip address i would say,

don't hubs and switches go by mac addresses ??? icon_neutral.gif

Comments

• blackninjablackninja Member Posts: 385
    Hubs and switches operate at layer 2 but the computer still needs a layer 3 address to talk to other computers.

So on 7 computers on a hub, they would need 7 different IP addresses,which are in the same subnet.

Computer A transmitting to B would broadcast the frames to every port (except the one it came out of) and on the port computer B is attached will be the only one to accept the frames.

Learn about ARP.
    Currently studying:
    CCIE R&S - using INE workbooks & videos

Currently reading:
    Everything. Twice ;)
  • fly351fly351 Member Posts: 360
    No they do not. Hub's operate at layer 1. They are just a multi-port repeater. Switches operate at layer 2 which forward/filter based on the hardware address (eq MAC address).
    CCNP :study:
  • blackninjablackninja Member Posts: 385
    fly351 wrote: »
    No they do not. Hub's operate at layer 1. They are just a multi-port repeater. Switches operate at layer 2 which forward/filter based on the hardware address (eq MAC address).

Ohh.....my bad. Tired.

But I'm sure you knew what I meant, just a little boo boo.
    Currently studying:
    CCIE R&S - using INE workbooks & videos

Currently reading:
    Everything. Twice ;)
    lol yah I do. My post probably sounds as if it is directed to you but I actually was typing it before you replied ;)