which cert first ?

ITRajuyITRajuy Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
Currently I am going to school and in my first year and getting my associates in IT. I wilI get my bachelors in information systems security. I know that getting a certification would help me in the knowledge area because I have no IT experience. What is a good certification to start out with. I know that getting certs could help me earn money, I just don't know which one to start with. I was hoping some of you with certs can point me in the right direction.

Thanks in advance,
Rajuy

Comments

• Warsh1pWarsh1p Member Posts: 66 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I suppose I'll be the one that says it...

CompTIA A+
    #Current Studies#
    || B.S. in Management Information Systems
    || MCTS Self-Paced Training Kit: Configuring Microsoft Windows 7
    || Element K Windows 7 Configuration Courses
    || Transcender: MCTS Windows 7 Practice Exam

#Certification Path#
    || August 2010: MCTS Win 7 Config (70-680)
    || November 2010: CompTIA Network+ (N10-004)
    || February 2011: CompTIA Project+ (PK0-003)
  • jamesleecolemanjamesleecoleman Member Posts: 1,899 ■■■■■□□□□□
    I agree with Warsh1p. It'll be a great start for IT certifications.
    Booya!!
    WIP : | CISSP [2018] | CISA [2018] | CAPM [2018] | eCPPT [2018] | CRISC [2019] | TORFL (TRKI) B1 | Learning: | Russian | Farsi |
    *****You can fail a test a bunch of times but what matters is that if you fail to give up or not*****
  • phantasmphantasm Member Posts: 995
    Third for suggesting A+ to start out with. After that I would look into Net+ and Sec+ as a solid foundation. Just my .02.
    "No man ever steps in the same river twice, for it's not the same river and he's not the same man." -Heraclitus
  • DevilsbaneDevilsbane Member Posts: 4,214 ■■■■■■■■□□
    phantasm wrote: »
    Third for suggesting A+ to start out with. After that I would look into Net+ and Sec+ as a solid foundation. Just my .02.

4th. I agree with all of whay phantasm said.