Options

How to get started?

petesnookpetesnook Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi. Don't know if this is the right place for this type of question - apologies if not.

Having spent 20 years as a mainframe programmer, I felt like a change and decided that networking sounded like a good thing to get into...everyone has networks, right, and I've always been more of a 'teckie'.

I bought books, simulators etc, and started studying for the CCNA certification. I found it quite difficult at first (not a fast learner these days!), but was gonna push myself and stick with it.

I started looking at what sort of jobs were around, to try and get an idea as to how I might get some experience once I'd passed...looking at what was on JobServe etc (UK).

I realise that a certification is nothing without experience to back it up, and was fully prepared to start as a junior, trainee or whatever, but what concerns me is that every job advert I've seen doesn't only want CCNA, but a whole load of other stuff (particularly Microsoft), plus 'at least 6 months experience' etc.

I thought about maybe doing something like going direct to companies which use Cisco and volunteering some time for free, just to get some real-world experience. I've emailed a few agencies who were looking for network staff for advice and suggestions, but not had one reply.

Basically, at this point, I have no idea whether achieving the CCNA is going to get me anywhere. I've got a bit disillusioned because of this, and wondered if I was being very naiive in even contemplating getting into this field.

Would appreciate any comments or advice.

Comments

• Options
    jamesleecolemanjamesleecoleman Member Posts: 1,899 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Anything that can expand your knowledge on something will help you and is not a waste of time because knowledge is power. Are you going to get some MS certs?

You'll find something. I'm having a hard time finding work in IT too. Still keep looking and trying to volunteer somewhere.