N+ or MCDST?

Which certification is better after attaining the A+ Certification?
Ribs still touching....

Comments

• PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    Which certification is better after attaining the A+ Certification?

What are you IT goals?

Are you sticking with Hardware/helpdesk?

Or are you going into Network Admin work (or do you do that already?)
    Plantwiz
    _____
    "Grammar and spelling aren't everything, but this is a forum, not a chat room. You have plenty of time to spell out the word "you", and look just a little bit smarter." by Phaideaux

***I'll add you can Capitalize the word 'I' to show a little respect for yourself too.

'i' before 'e' except after 'c'.... weird?
  • someuser23someuser23 Member Posts: 103
    Plantwiz wrote: »
    What are you IT goals?

Are you sticking with Hardware/helpdesk?

Or are you going into Network Admin work (or do you do that already?)

My degree is old, I'm looking to get into I.T and stay in the field for a while.

My degree is in Computer Network Administration (AS)

I have the A+ and I had a couple temp jobs basically doing PC Support.

I was told the N+ sucks and the MCDST will stand out more but with my degree being in Networking knowing a little about Networking will be better to people.

I'll get the N+.
    Ribs still touching....
  • DevilsbaneDevilsbane Member Posts: 4,214 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I did Net+ next and thought it was a good test.

Oddly enough I have heard that the MCDST doesn't pull much weight. I still want to get mine because it is another cert to add to my resume, and I'm at the point where everything helps.

If you get the Net+ this year it lasts for life. If you skip it and then decide next year that you want it, you will need to recertify every 3 years. So if you are on the fence as to whether you want it, I personally would play it safe and get it. But there really is no wrong answer, everyone takes a different path.
    Decide what to be and go be it.