depth vs width

spartangtrspartangtr Member Posts: 111
I am still a newbie to networking. I've passed my CCNA and invested a lot of time and money into it buying study materials and used equipment. I have a nice little home lab with 3 routers/3 switches and it will get expanded, just not sure how soon. So here's my real question...

As someone with close to no networking experience on my current job, should I be focusing on depth or width? CCNP seems like it would be a big jump and to employers having a CCNP on my resume with no experience might not mean much besides the fact that i'm very curious about networking and dedicated and ready to learn.

Would I be better served getting the other associate level certs first? I think regardless i'll be going after the CCNA:S, but i've also been playing around with getting the CCNA:W after that. Thoughts?

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    I'd recommend you get some experience before getting any higher level certifications. Once you get your career going you will know which direction to go with your certifications. The CCNA concentrations can keep you busy in the mean time if feel the need to get certified in something.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□