Security+ CBTs/Book

ComputadoraComputadora Member Posts: 69 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello All,

I am currently studying for the Security+ exam (SYO-201). I am using the Syngress CompTIA Security+ Certification Study Guide which covers the SYO-201 exam. At work I am given these CBT nuggets by Shon Harris but they cover the SYO-101 exam. But so far the first chapter of the book Systems Security seems to line up with the first domain of the CBT series. Do you all think I can pass the test by watching the CBTs for the SYO-101 exam and reading the book based on the SYO-201 exam?

Comments

• etowntecetowntec Member Posts: 13 ■□□□□□□□□□
    You should pick up the SY0-201 book by Darril Gibbson. His book is great and could almost be used as the only source you need for the exam.
  • PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    .... Do you all think I can pass the test by watching the CBTs for the SYO-101 exam and reading the book based on the SYO-201 exam?

No idea.

How well do you undestand the objectives for this exam?

I'm reviewing the material for this topic right now and for a CBT - I like TrainSignal's material (thus far, but I'm only 30% through it...I think it does a nice job overall).

The Sybex Text covers the material pretty well too.

How much experience do you have with this mateiral? This will be a better indication of your ability to pass the exam.
    Plantwiz
    _____
    "Grammar and spelling aren't everything, but this is a forum, not a chat room. You have plenty of time to spell out the word "you", and look just a little bit smarter." by Phaideaux

***I'll add you can Capitalize the word 'I' to show a little respect for yourself too.

'i' before 'e' except after 'c'.... weird?
  • ComputadoraComputadora Member Posts: 69 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I am fairly new to security in general If I take the SYO-201 exam or SYO-101 exam by January 1, 2011 they do not retire correct?
  • rogue2shadowrogue2shadow Member Posts: 1,501 ■■■■■■■■□□