Landed new job! Desktop Operator (Question)

cqlovecqlove Registered Users Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
I graduated in December 2009 with a B.S. in Management Information Systems. After looking for an IT job for 6 months, I finally found one only 3 minutes from my house for a major oil company! My question is should I even bother with the A+ certification? Would Network + be a better choice? My goal is to become a System Admin. in the near future. Any help would be much appreciated.

Comments

• earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Welcome to TE!
    No cert is necessarilly a waste of time be it the A+or Net+. What's more important is the knowledge you gain in studying for these certs. Download the objectives for the A+ and if you are comfortable with answering questions in the objective you could probably just skip getting that cert. The same goes for the Net+.
    It would probably be a good idea to go ahead and study for and obtain the Net+ as the knowledge you gain from that will help you further down the road. The network knowledge I gained from the Net+ has helped me so far in studying for more advanced vendor specific certs.
    No longer work in IT. Play around with stuff sometimes still and fix stuff for friends and relatives.
  • DevilsbaneDevilsbane Member Posts: 4,214 ■■■■■■■■□□
    cqlove wrote: »
    I graduated in December 2009 with a B.S. in Management Information Systems. After looking for an IT job for 6 months, I finally found one only 3 minutes from my house for a major oil company! My question is should I even bother with the A+ certification? Would Network + be a better choice? My goal is to become a System Admin. in the near future. Any help would be much appreciated.

First off, congratulations!

Second, I hope it isn't for BP

Third, I would personally do them. Even if you know most/all the information, the piece of paper is always nice to know. Then you should get on the MCSA/E/MCITP path depending on where you want to go.