Some Serious Advice

coffeekingcoffeeking Member Posts: 305 ■■■■□□□□□□
Folks,

Need your expert input into something that could be a big change for me.

As of now I have little over 2 years of Information Security experience with a Bachelors degree and some certs. I am thinking of getting into an Master's program; it is off course a valuable addition to career profile but if I get into it then I pretty much end up spending all my savings and come out empty handed, from a financial point of view, at the end of my coursework. I also thing that this is probably the most appropriate time for me to get into this since I don't have any family ties (wife,kids).

Given the above situation, would you jump into it at 30?

My only point of concern is that I will have to take a fresh start in terms of savings. Is a Master's degree worth spending all my savings on.

Appreciate your comments.

Comments

• Mojo_666Mojo_666 Member Posts: 438
    What will you get out of it?

Will it enable you to earn more money? will it better position your for promotion? or will it help when applying for another job?

If I could not answer yes to the above I wouldn't do it.

Having a degree, some certs and some solid experience already puts you ahead of most of the competition.
  • coffeekingcoffeeking Member Posts: 305 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Mojo_666 wrote: »
    What will you get out of it?

Will it enable you to earn more money? will it better position your for promotion? or will it help when applying for another job?

If I could not answer yes to the above I wouldn't do it.

Actually I could see a YES to all 3 of these. I could actually be making twice as much of what I am currently making. I have saved a good amount of money to pay for MS in 2 years and if I spend it all then I should be able to earn it back in a shorter period of time.
  • Mojo_666Mojo_666 Member Posts: 438
    coffeeking wrote: »