Passed the core today :)

DalmazianDalmazian Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello all, this is my first post here. I have been reading and studying off of this site for about a week now. My question is this. I have been working with and around computers for about 8 years. I can build one, i can troubleshoot one, but the terms and definitions are what get me. So i took the VTC A+ cert course, and now i am studying off of the practice tests on here. Do you think these practice tests are enough to judge by? Or should i take more?
And do any of you have any tips? I have the dma's, irq's, and i/o down pretty good. Or at least the ones on the practice test here. I am just nervous. I am working at a bad job right now, making little money, and i want to take this test, so i can at least get into something i enjoy. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• keatronkeatron Member Posts: 1,213 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Always use more than one source to judge your progress and/or level of understanding.
  • DalmazianDalmazian Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
    K, thanks. I am also doing some practice ones from SimulationExams. There pretty good.
  • AzimScotAzimScot Inactive Imported Users Posts: 24 ■■□□□□□□□□
    make sure you know your networks and printers especially laser also cpu sockets i heard where quite alot these technotes are great
  • keatronkeatron Member Posts: 1,213 ■■■■■■□□□□
    I would reccommend more than just exam sims and practice questions, read a book like Mike Meyers all-in-one A+ guide, and make sure you try to take a look as much as possible inside an actual computer. You could very easily have questions where you have to ID devices, cables, etc.
  • PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    Dalmazian wrote: