Options

Salary expectations - did I screw myself?

AnonymouseAnonymouse Member Posts: 509 ■■■■□□□□□□
So I recently had an interview for an entry-level desktop support position. It's all I can really find around where I live that has given me a chance to interview and actually has great health/medical/dental benefits. The interviewer repeatedly asked me how much I expect to make. I was trying to avoid the question but then she told me the salary range was $10 to $20. That's a big range of pay. $18 an hour would have been a stretch for me. I was nervous about being rejected due to asking for anything over $15 an hour so I settled at that for halfway.

Now here's the thing, I have about 2 years of experience in IT working desktop support and have an A+. Aside from that I have 2 years of classroom (didn't finish degree though) and volunteer experience. Is it too much of me to ask for more than $15 an hour? They have to line up a second interview for me before they will decide on hiring me. The interviewer seemed to really like me so far though. If they were to offer me a job is it ok for me to ask for a little higher wage? I'm really worried about coming off as unprofessional and thinking too highly of my expertise.

Comments

• Options
    gatewaygateway Member Posts: 232
    nanashi wrote: »
    So I recently had an interview for an entry-level desktop support position. It's all I can really find around where I live that has given me a chance to interview and actually has great health/medical/dental benefits. The interviewer repeatedly asked me how much I expect to make. I was trying to avoid the question but then she told me the salary range was $10 to $20. That's a big range of pay. $18 an hour would have been a stretch for me. I was nervous about being rejected due to asking for anything over $15 an hour so I settled at that for halfway.