NOC Interview advise

eteneten Member Posts: 67 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello guys.

I've recently got an interview for a NOC position from a medium sized fiber optic company. I myself have never been worked in a NOC before, and they will be conducting a technical evaluation on me.... as usual.

Is there anything in particular I should prepare for, besides the general network admin/engineer questions that I find on the net? Their qualification lists SONET and HP Network Node where I have no knowledge on. Any last minute brush ups will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Comments

• filkenjitsufilkenjitsu Member Posts: 564 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Hello!

Congrats on your interview!

I work in a Cellular Telecommunications NOC and I think my advice may be helpful.

I would say the main stuff to know would be:

The different sizes of trunk, for instance, what is a T1, what is an E1, the differences, how many DS0s make up a T1? a T3?

What is the OC system and what are the various bandwidths of each type, from OC-3 to OC-192 and above. How many T1s are in an OC-3 (many times OC trunks are channelized into T1 circuits or T3 circuits.

What is the physical construction of a fiber optic cable?

What are the three different fiber types? Single Mode, Step Index, and Graded Index. know what those mean.

What is Chromatic Dispersion?

What is Polarization Mode dispersion?

loss in fiber optic strands is called absorption.

What is DWDM?

Light sources? LED and Laser, what are the differences?

A Fiber Optic Multiplexer sits at each end of the fiber, it accepts the electical interfaces on one side and does the electrical to optical and back and forth conversions. It also combines multiple signals and sends the down one pipe or trunk.

Some multiplexers are called ROADM or Reconfigurable optical add drop multiplexers. It is a pretty common term.

I don't know, you may or may not need to know this stuff, but if you are asked "What do you know about fiber optics/fiber optic networks?" you will be ready!