Unix or Linux or CCNA?

Which to get first? I'm currently studying for my CCNA but it will still be a while before I can take that test. However in looking for a new job most people seem to want linux or unix more so than ccna. I mean how hard is it to get experience with unix or linux in a home lab type setup?

I know ccna would more so be for networking and unix/linux sys admin type stuff but the job i'm looking for would be for kinda both.

Comments

• phoeneousphoeneous Member Posts: 2,333 ■■■■■■■□□□
    loxleynew wrote: »
    how hard is it to get experience with unix or linux in a home lab type setup?

Not difficult at all. Download virtualbox and any linux flavor (RedHat, Debian, CentOS, etc..) and have fun. And for Unix, check out PC-BSD - Home.
  • Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Which to get first? I'm currently studying for my CCNA but it will still be a while before I can take that test. However in looking for a new job most people seem to want linux or unix more so than ccna. I mean how hard is it to get experience with unix or linux in a home lab type setup?

I know ccna would more so be for networking and unix/linux sys admin type stuff but the job i'm looking for would be for kinda both.

I think the CCNA cert would do more for your resume than a LPIC-1 (just because of Cisco ubiquity and stuff). The Linux knowledge might do more for your skillset. I suggest doing after both (as I am) because I am looking to move into security and both seemed to be desired.

As P stated, getting started with linux isn't hard.
  • NightShade03NightShade03 Member Posts: 1,383 ■■■■■■■□□□
    knwminus wrote: »
    I think the CCNA cert would do more for your resume than a LPIC-1 (just because of Cisco ubiquity and stuff).

You could also argue that the LPIC-1 would do more because everyone is going after the CCNA. icon_wink.gif

Either way you should pursue what you like working with.