InfoSec Jobs

N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
I have an interview for an InfoSec position, yet I have no security IT certification. The interviewer during the pre interview kind of eluded that they like their employees to have at least one certification pertaining to security.

I was wondering if the ISO 27002 would work? I purchased the book several weeks back and I haven't had a chance to read it yet. I am still studying for another cert which I sit for tomorrow at 11. I probably should call him and ask if that cert would fit the bill, but I just got done talking to him and I don't want to come across like the Cable Guy AKA Jim Carrey.

Suggestions? I know there is security + but I have the book for 27002 already.

The craziest part about this is I just threw out a resume to this position and now they come calling. I applied for dozens of SAP jobs which I would think I am more qualified for yet an InfoSec position comes knocking. Weird.

Thank you in advance.

Comments

• rogue2shadowrogue2shadow Member Posts: 1,501 ■■■■■■■■□□
    If its InfoSec DoD wise, they may want Sec+ over the ISO because of 8570 compliance; it doesn't hurt to ask though. If worst case scenario, well not really "worst" lol, they end up wanting the Sec+ over the ISO certs, grab Darill's book off Amazon, its an easy read and pretty cheap too ($32 last I checked).
  • N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    If its InfoSec DoD wise, they may want Sec+ over the ISO because of 8570 compliance; it doesn't hurt to ask though. If worst case scenario, well not really "worst" lol, they end up wanting the Sec+ over the ISO certs, grab Darill's book off Amazon, its an easy read and pretty cheap too ($32 last I checked).

It is a DoD position. Thanks for your quick response.
    N2IT wrote: »
    It is a DoD position. Thanks for your quick response.