Department Opening

MonkerzMonkerz Member Posts: 842
I have a question, I hope someone can help me out.

I am currently an on-site IT Support Technician for two manufacturing facilities(Tier1). Recently one of the network engineers, at the company I work, resigned leaving an opening(at DataCenter). Our current Senior Network Engineer and I have really bonded since I made my interest in networking known at the beginning of this year. I have acquired A+, Net+ and CCENT since January, and I just started my CCNA Studies. Other than these certs, I have very little experience with networking. Only working with our Senior Engineer on stuff.

He is telling me that I should apply for the opening when it is posted, but I do not have some of the required experience or certifications yet. He has told me that the Director could care less about a CCNA certificate, he states, "We can train anyone". I've hit a fork in the road. Do I apply knowing full well they probably think I have more knowledge than I actually do, leaving me at risk of losing my job once promoted? Or, do I not apply and miss out on the promotion I have been waiting for?

If I take the job, how would I apply? Do I need to send him a resume, even though I already work in the department? The job posting says "Apply To ______ _________" (Manager of Network Operations)

Below is the job posting:
Job Title:
Network Engineer I
Summary:
The Network Engineer’s role is to ensure the stability and integrity of in-house voice, data, video, and wireless network services. This is
achieved by planning, designing, and developing local area networks (LANs) and wide area networks (WANs) across the organization. In
addition, the Network Engineer will participate with the installation, monitoring, maintenance, support, and optimization of all network
hardware, software, and communication links. This individual will also analyze and resolve network hardware and software problems in a