Need your suggestion, especially JDMurray

fawadn_84fawadn_84 Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
Dear All,
I am a network Engineer in a software house here in Pakistan, i have around 2 years Network experience. I have done 4 years Bsc. in Telecommunication Engineering.
and now in my job, with the troubleshooting and maintenance of overall IT in my company, I used to deal with the ISA - proxy server.

so, what should i do?

I want to pursue my career in SECURITY, so what should i do ?
i believe in my self, that regarding study , i can study CISSP, but only lacking the SECURITY EXPERIENCE.

kindly suggest me your advices.

Thank you,

take care

Comments

• laidbackfreaklaidbackfreak Member Posts: 991
    The security experience is pretty broad, given your roles so far you probably cover a couple of the domains already. Where you lack is in length of experience, your degree will\may take a year off but you still need a further 4 years to qualify.

you have a couple of opitons open to you now. Look at the SSCP path or take the CISSP exam to earn the "associate" status untill you meet the requirements.

Do you have any other certifications ? You may want to look at Security+ or others in the mean time.
    if I say something that can be taken one of two ways and one of them offends, I usually mean the other one :-)
  • fawadn_84fawadn_84 Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
    The security experience is pretty broad, given your roles so far you probably cover a couple of the domains already. Where you lack is in length of experience, your degree will\may take a year off but you still need a further 4 years to qualify.

you have a couple of opitons open to you now. Look at the SSCP path or take the CISSP exam to earn the "associate" status untill you meet the requirements.

Do you have any other certifications ? You may want to look at Security+ or others in the mean time.
    Dear laidbackfreak,

yeah thats wat i am asking for, that what should i do ??...