Which SANS course to begin with?

iVictoriVictor Member Posts: 45 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

I work as a Pentester and hold handful of certs.

I've been going through the forum posts and it appears that GSEC is a popular SANS cert for starters. I have gone through its syllabii and it's huge and very complete..

The understanding that foundations should be built well is absolutely clear to me. The thing is, given the budget crunch, mgmt guys couldn't care any less now about 'foundations pitch' coming from any experienced personnel. You see what I mean here. Looking at how some cool guys here are doing multiple SANS courses and challenges, I got speechless for a while. Basically, now it's more about selling out to guys ups so they can approve fundings.

Given such a scenario, I am trying to identify the best suited subjects for me and the order of their execution.

I plan to work towards these 3 subjects:
1. GPEN
2. GWAPT
3. SANS Metasploit / GSEC

Please share your opinions and inputs on this choice, order, and / or experience to get started up with it.

SANS is damn expensive and equally worthy. So am may be looking for people's experiences on how they perhaps pursued these out of their wallets. That'd be inspiring to hear.

Another question, can I pool in with any other colleagues to purchase and share the SANS course material?

Best Regards,
iVictor
This is the Right Time

Comments

• GAngelGAngel Member Posts: 708 ■■■■□□□□□□
    If you're already a pentester then GSEC probably will be way to light for you. Gpen cover's metasploit and may be where you want to start.
  • dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I challenged the GSEC and GPEN. Foundation is definitely important but at your level, I don't see the GSEC course being worthwhile. Eric Cole, who is one of the course authors and primary instructors also wrote the Network Security Bible, and you can use that as a reference. I only took it because I want to go after the GSE, and it's a prerequisite.