Home Lab - Hardware or Simulators?

TheVirusTheVirus Member Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I'm currently studying for the CCENT (then going to take the ICND2 after I study for that) but I'm curious about getting actual experience with Cisco equipment and what is a good 'starter' kit.

My goal is to get into some network security but most of the companies are hiring CCNA/MSCE people. I figure that I could get into a decent sized company and work my way up. The problem I'm at now is that, while I am an extremely fast learner (I studied the Security+ and Network+ for about 2 weeks and passed, in that order, about 2 weeks apart), it's hard for me to convey that on a resume/interview. I'm sure the hiring person has heard it all before and I'm sure they've been let down a lot as well.

So, I want to get some sort of lab set up so I can tinker around and get some experience with real-world scenarios. I've looked at Boson and a few other simulator packages out there, but am unsure of whether or not they are proper packages to play around with. I was also trying to find some websites or info on how to train real-world scenarios, kind of like homework, so I can get experience outside of what is taught in the lessons.

I'm looking for a software solution simply because it doesn't take up extra space and it might save on cost in the short-term.

A little background on myself: