Support Position - getting in trouble

computer800computer800 Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
I've been working in a support position for a few months so far. Employees keep getting blamed at for doing minor mistakes whenever customers complain. There is a lot of pointing fingers happening when things go wrong and it comes back to you. The thing is that it demotives me in the job and I lose more confidence whenever this happen.

Is this what support jobs is all about?

Comments

• vColevCole Member Posts: 1,573 ■■■■■■■□□□
    Not at all. Unfortunately, sounds like poor management.

I suggest finding out what the common issues the users complain about, figure out a way to resolve them. That means less finger pointing, and less stress. Plus, you'll look good. icon_thumright.gif
  • Ryan82Ryan82 Member Posts: 428
    Happens where I work too. When a customer complains, mudslinging ensues. But FadeToBright pretty much hit it exactly, find the root of the problem and correct it before it becomes an ever bigger problem affecting the customer and the employees.
  • computer800computer800 Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Ryan82 wrote: »
    Happens where I work too. When a customer complains, mudslinging ensues. But FadeToBright pretty much hit it exactly, find the root of the problem and correct it before it becomes an ever bigger problem affecting the customer and the employees.

It ranges from all types of issues.
    Ex) coworker told customer that we don't support these stuff and recommend them to contact the manufacture. then it comes back to haunt him

Ex) customer asks for simple stuff that isn't enough to open a ticket. recommendation was given to them but no ticket created. it comes back as to why a ticket wasn't created

Ex) Customer wants an update to see how long it takes to solve it. we don't have an estimated time...and even this can cause problems....