How much time do you think it will take me to pass the CCNA?

I can only devote about 2 hrs a day to study. I have some residual knowledge from a former lifetime and would estimate if I took it now, I'd make about a 600-650. I would like to have some confidence of making at least a 900.

Since I've not touched an actual Cisco device in 2 1/2 years, companies are understandably not especially interested in me currently, so I think a CCNA would be helpful. Also I am sure they wonder why I've not worked in over a year - I had to take off to care for my babies, who came 14 weeks early, spent 4 months in the NICU, and could not go to day care till they were cleared recently. But prospective employers don't know that - and if I tell them, I am sure they will be privately thinking I am only going to get pregnant again and take another year off (I'm not - two is plenty for me.)

I realize you can only guess at how long it will take, but you can help me set a goal - thanks!
OK, I confess, I do have one certification. I am an ACIA - Arcsight Certified Integrator/Administrator. But it's awarded for attending the class. Woot. And while it's a fine skill to have, my interests lay elsewhere.

Comments

• bermovickbermovick Member Posts: 1,135 ■■■■□□□□□□
    At a VERY rough guess, I'd guess ... ~4-5 months?

There's really waaay too many variables, but I had around 2-3 times the amount of studying time available, and both ICND1 & ICND2 took me about 4-6 weeks (each).

Of course I came in with little background (other than hooking up home networks), so your background may make up for having less time available, so you may be able to knock them out quicker.
    Latest Completed: CISSP

Current goal: Dunno
  • mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Since I've not touched an actual Cisco device in 2 1/2 years
    How much did you touch them back then -- and what kind?