Another lab gear post...

qwerty_faceqwerty_face Member Posts: 32 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi guys,

I'm new to the forum, please be nice!

I reckon I'll be posting here for a while since I'm currently studying for the CCNA and the site seems a terrific resource for support. icon_thumright.gif

Basically, I am currently studying a computer engineering degree and one module in particular that is coming up in September includes a long module in Cisco routing and routing basics. It is designed such that it essentially covers CCNA1 and CCNA2 topics (the CCNA3 & 4 are part of a further module in the final year, but I don't want to wait that long!).

I have a couple of things that I'd like you expert lot to clarify for me.

Firstly, am I correct in thinking that the CCNA1 and CCNA2 topics would give me the knowledge required for taking the ICND1 exam (and thus enabling me to gain the CCENT) ?

Secondly, I went on a spending spree :D - naughty... For the past couple of days I have been looking at threads begun by people like myself who are just getting started in networking in terms of professional credentials and who are asking about recommendations for lab gear.

I found these two particular threads very useful:
A) http://www.techexams.net/forums/ccna-ccent/53162-ccna-lab-hardware-clarification.html
B)http://www.techexams.net/forums/ccna-ccent/51888-ccna-lab-vs-simulator.html

And Wendell Odom over at NWW has a good blog post about routers and switches here:
C) The Best Router for CCNP Prep in 2010 | NetworkWorld.com Community
D) The Best Switch for CCNP Prep in 2010 | NetworkWorld.com Community

Having read these posts the 2600XM series routers are very popular as well as the 2950 switches. I gather that there is a sticky somewhere about what lab gear to go for. The general consensus seemed to be that 2 switches plus 3 routers where 1 router is to act as a FR is generally a good configuration to supplement CCNA studies.