Options

THIS EXAM SUCKS! :p

nouveaux21nouveaux21 Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
I JUST finished taking the 70-291 exam and I can definitely tell you that even after 3 months (on and off) of study, I was completely unprepared for this test! I got an embarrasing 500, thus missing the target by 197 points... Only 43 questions though! Heres some tips for you (and for my future reference):

KNOW EVERYTHING ABOUT DNS - I had 25 questions dealing with ridiculously complex DNS setups and configs... Many of them were simulations - if you dont know it, youre boned. No guessing here. ALSO KNOW AGEING AND SCAVENGING - a topic that is really overlooked.

Know DHCP error codes... I had a question about DHCP console showing an error 14 on the server and scope... anyone know what that is? I guessed and said that you need to check the other DHCP servers on the network for overlaps in scopes...

Know the route command... specifically, whether or not you can have it look just like this:
route add 0.0.0.0 mask 0.0.0.0 192.168.1.1 (assuming thats the gateway)

I took a few practice exams and got 80 or 90 percent before I went into this exam. Heres my printout stats:

Maintaining network infrastructure: 95%
Implementing/Managing/Maintaining RRAS: 95%
***Implementing/Managing/Maintaining Network Security: 25-30%
Implementing/Managing/Maintaining IP Addressing: 95%
Implementing/Managing/Maintaining NAME RESOLUTION: 30-35%

OUCH! Hopefully some of you can take a lesson from me and avoid what I was hoping not to do... Now I have to wait ANOTHER 2 weeks till I can start on the exciting new stuff (cause im sick of looking at this material!)

Time to fire up the virtual PC!