Options

blocked port

ciscoholicciscoholic Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
i would like to know how would an intruder bypass a blocked port.
or what would he do if all ports are blocked except port 80(http). i am new to network security i managed to do that but i still get trojan and tracking cookies on my lil network. can anyone explain?

Comments

• Options
    RussSRussS Member Posts: 2,068 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Quite often you will find that you have more than port 80 open. There are many that set up firewalls and allow certain programmes run from inside the network to speak to the outside world. What happens there is that if a trojan is send to a node inside the network it can then talk back to home base.
    Mostly I find that the firewall is badly configured and has all sorts of ports open - quite often backdoors left by the programmer to allow remote configuration.
    You will also usually find more than port 80 open - things like 22 for SSH - 23 for Telnet - 25/110/143 for email .. SMTP/POP/IMAP - 3389 for RDP.

If it is a network I am administering I check with their ISP and then run some serious port scans to see what is open and what is happening.
    After that I fix it. My rule when I build a firewall is - all closed except port 80 until someone screams. Then I ask what port they need open and why. Then if I am in a mind to I will open it, but usually I will sort out a little port mapping if it is only one user.
    www.supercross.com
    FIM website of the year 2007
  • Options
    Chivalry1Chivalry1 Member Posts: 569
    I agree. Do a external port scan on your network to find out what ports are open. Often Firewalls indicate that all ports are close when actually it keeps some ports running. You can virtually get a port scanner from anywhere over the internet. Run that scan to determine what ports are open, and then begin blocking those services.
    "The recipe for perpetual ignorance is: be satisfied with your opinions and