Need some direction here

2URGSE2URGSE Member Posts: 220 ■■■□□□□□□□
Here is the deal. I'm currently studying for my Cisco CCNA exam. I am interested in networking, but as time goes by I realize that I'm more interested in defeating malware and data recovery.

With that being said, I want to complete my CCNA, since I scored 66% and felt I was really close, so it would be a waste to stop now.

I started researching the CEH path and found the Official exam book.

I also have other books on the shelf such as Hacking Exposed 3rd edition, Hacking Exposed for Wireless, Hacking Exposed Cisco Systems and a few other books about network security and social engineering.

I've done work removing malware in a Corporate environment as well as Data Recovery.

I have my A+ and Network+ and wondering if I should seriously consider the CEH track since that's what I'm into and what kind of jobs I can land.

Thanks,
A+
Network+
CCENT (formally CCNA certified)
ICE (Imprivata Certified Engineer)

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    The CEH has very little to do with malware and data recovery, and the books you listed don't really either. What is it you ultimately want to be doing? What kind of programming skills do you have?
  • 2URGSE2URGSE Member Posts: 220 ■■■□□□□□□□
    dynamik wrote: »
    The CEH has very little to do with malware and data recovery, and the books you listed don't really either. What is it you ultimately want to be doing? What kind of programming skills do you have?

I don't have much programming experience. I'm trying to get some free online training on a malware removal forum.

I have experience with most Anti-Virus products, favorite one is Kaspersky. I'm on their forum and they have a unique way of removing malware using AVZ for logging, GSI logging and then Malwarebytes.

I also have experience using GetDataBack and Active Disk Killer.