Options

Highest usefulness to time invested ratio certifications?

feng.lianfeng.lian Member Posts: 47 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello. Although there is no doubt in my mind that I will eventually get the MCSE 2003 and the MCITP EA and that there is a great demand in the labor market for those, they do require 7 and 5 exams respectively which is quite an investment in time. I have done the CCNA in two exams and I think those have a very good usefulness to time invested ratio since I recently started looking for work.

Since I only started studying for the 70-680, I was thinking maybe I should just pass that one exam, then delay a little for the MCSE and go after Linux, A+, Security+ and SQL certifications instead. What do you think?

Comments

• Options
    UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,564 Mod
    I think it's all a nice learning experience to you. Best thing is to go for a cert where you have a chance to get immediate hands-on (on the job) experience.

If you work at a place where there are a lot of Microsoft technologies utilized, then go for MCSE ,and get hands on experience as much as possible. Setup a homelab and practice.

All those certs are useful in the long run, specially when combined with the right hands-on experience.

My personal opinion, MCSE would be a better investment than Sec+, A+, and SQL...so I suggest you finish the MCSE first if you can.

Good luck icon_thumright.gif
    Certs: GSTRT, GPEN, GCFA, CISM, CRISC, RHCE

Learn GRC! GRC Mastery : https://grcmastery.com 

• Options
    Mike-MikeMike-Mike Member Posts: 1,860
    in case you haven't seen it on here already, the comptia trinity is good for life if you get it this year, so if you are considering A+ or Security+, you should go for it in 2010
    Currently Working On

CWTS, then WireShark
  • Options
    feng.lianfeng.lian Member Posts: 47 ■■□□□□□□□□
    What's the third member of the trinity? Network+?