Study Materials for CISSP

ThePistonDoctorThePistonDoctor Member Posts: 62 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

Let me put this bluntly: I'm 25 and am determined to get my CISSP on my own. I essentially want to do this "secretly" so that I can present the certification to my boss and surprise him. Why? I don't know, because I can.

I'm a good test taker and do not take these exams lightly. I know a few CISSPs and I know the exam is hell, but that doesn't bother me. I have a couple years experience in IT, I'm a pretty big geek and have two certs already (Sec+ and Net+) so I know I can do it w/ enough dedication.

My question is should I just buy some books and start reading? If so, what is the best book to start with? I have no problem reading a chapter each night, watching youtube videos, taking practice tests, asking questions on forums, etc and I have the free time and dedication to be able to do it.

What do you guys recommend as a starting point?

Edit: BTW I also have a BS in MIS from RIT in NY (how's that for a list of acronyms?!)

Comments

• Chris:/*Chris:/* Member Posts: 658 ■■■■■■■■□□
    The CISSP is a completely different animal, than Security+ and Network+. I am reading through the material as I do my other studies. I ran through all the material in about 2 months and had a solid understanding of it. Now I am in review mode which has lasted another 5 months while doing other work. I am planning to take the test either next year or 2012 it all depends on when I can get a break from work to fly back to the states to take the test.