Interested in virtualization, what basic certs to get besides VMWare?

DmaulDmaul Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello all,

What a great forum this is, glad I found it.

Background - I have a 4 year degree in Information Systems from a university and 7 years of experience in systems administration, mainly Windows 2000/XP, hardware and networking. Some security, database and web development experience too.

My goal is to get a VMWare cert and work as a systems admin with an emphasis on virutalization. I would then see where that takes me, maybe get Citrix certs or see what else is out there, but I am very interested in virutalization in general.

My question is, since my degree is from 2003, should I get some basic certs? I have none. I was thinking of getting an A+, should I get a Network+ too? MSCE? Or should I go the CCNA route? Anyone working or going into virtualization care to comment? Should I get these b4 the VMWare cert?

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    With your experience I wouldn't bother with te entry levelcerts as you don't really need those. If interested in Virtualization there are always the MS Virtualization certs where you couldd get The MCITP: Windows Server 2008 R2 Virtualization Administrator by taking the (70-652 or 70-659) and 70-669 and 70-693. I probably wouldn't bother with the MCSE:2003 at this point in your career either but instead get the MCITP:SA or EA for Windows Server 2008 (the exams now cover Server 2008 R2).
    The VMWare certs are expensive as you have to take a VMWare approved course in order to get the cert. There are a few universities which offer the courses online (there are threads in the virtualization forum on this but I don't have time right now to look them up)
    When mentolmoose and a few others who are really knowledgable about this subject get on this thread later you'll get a lot of good info from them.