Finally offered an IT job- what I learned in the process

rob7278rob7278 Member Posts: 57 ■■□□□□□□□□
Today I was finally offered an IT job. I wanted to share some of the things I learned along the way, in hopes that an idea may help someone else or perhaps help someone avoid a pitfall. I also wanted to thank the people on this forum who have contributed their experiences and/or knowledge, which undoubtedly helped me make smarter choices and set realistic expectations. Getting a job doesn't mean I have no more use for certs or this forum, on the contrary- I am just getting started on my IT career, but getting a job was my primary goal earning certs.
What I learned-
  • An IT certification may catch the attention of an employer and help you get an interview, but it's what you learned through studying for the certification and your IT experience applying this knowledge that will get you a job.
  • If you list various certs on your resume, yet fail to correctly answer basic troubleshooting/technical questions you are going to look far worse than if you didn't list certs at all (and you are going to cheapen the value of certifications in that persons mind)
  • Although most of the beginner certs (CompTia) aren't going to impress too many people, I felt they established basic IT knowledge/concepts which then helped me when I moved on to the MCSA and MCSE exams or whatever certs you happen to be pursuing.
  • Although the certifications i earned definitely helped me get my current job, I believe it was the constant tweaking of my resume that started getting the attention of employers; employers look for resumes the same way we look for job posting- through keywords, the more keywords that your resume matches with their search the higher your resume will be when ranked by relevance. Look at job postings for positions you are applying to and make sure your resume contains the same key words.