Jahsoul vs CCIE: Official TE Blog

jahsouljahsoul Member Posts: 453
Since I made it official in this thread

http://www.techexams.net/forums/ccie/58320-just-thought.html

I will go ahead and make an official TE blog about my attempt at the CCIE. A little back ground information about me:

Started officially working in IT 5 months ago; starting out as a level 1 help desk tech, moving up to level 2 in 3 months and picked up a few certs along the way. The most important one that I obtained was the CCNA. Now I work as a Network Support Tech at an awesome company but financially, I still have a lot of catching up to do because I gave up a lot to work in this field. I'm not going to stop learning and growing in this field because of financial issue so I began to think. By the time I can afford to take the CCNP, will I want to spend the $600 or should I shoot for the CCIE. After praying about it, discussing it with my wife, and talking to a few people, I chose the latter. This will be an uphill battle because I still have to master CCNP level topics because I even think about moving to expert level. My plan of attack for the written is 20.5 hours of studying a week (10.5 reading and 10 labbing). The books I plan on reading for the written portion are:

*SWITCH Foundations
*Routing TCP/IP Vol 1 and 2
*CCIE Official Exam Guide

The labs that I will be using concurrent with reading those first 4 books will be the ROUTE, SWITCH, and TSHOOT labs, IE Workbook 3 & 4 and any other labs anybody wanna hook a brotha up with on here. lmbo. (hopefully I can get my employer to pick up Foundation 2.0. I heard it was the truth)
After successfully getting through the written portion, I will continue using those lab books while reading:

*QoS exam guide
*Definitive MPLS Network Designs
*Cisco Field Manuals (Router and Switch)
*Developing IP Multicast Networks
*BGP Design and Implementation