N00bi3 to the Forum & CCNA w/ questions

ZeroHunterZeroHunter Member Posts: 148
First let me say hello to all the members!

I am completely new to the Cisco world, I just finished my CompTIA A+ 701/702, and I am now studying for the CompTIA Network+.

I have always been fascinated by the Cisco Products and the inter workings of the Internet, Computers & Networking in general, So being that the school I attend is an authorized Cisco Training Center, I am not in that class yet, but I thought I might as well start creating a Home Lab now, get a few books and get a jump on studying and learning about Cisco.

In the process of building my Home Lab I have come up with some questions that I have not easily found answers too(I did read the sticky's and FAQ). A note about the sticky's some of those post are 6 to 7 years old, it might be time to look at updating some of that information.

So let me get to my questions:

First, What is the real difference between the WIC-2T and the WIC-2A/S and why should I choose one over the other? For my lab unit I no intention of using the HD-60/WIC-1T, this seems like old stuff that is being phased out, plus the Smart Serial Cable seems like a better design.

Second, my current equipment in the Lab Rack is as follows:

(2) Cisco 2610XM Routers each w/ (1) WIC-2A/S (256 Ram & 48 Flash)
(2) Cisco 2611XM Routers each w/ (2) WIC-2A/S & NM-2W
(256 Ram & 48 Flash)
(3) Cisco Catalyst 2950-24 port Switches (WS-C2950-24-XL's)
(1) Cisco Catalyst 3524 Switch (WS-C3524-PWR-XL-EN)

Now I have listed the equipment for 2 reasons to get opinions about what is there, what should be add, dropped, changed etc.

And I would like to know what cables I should get to go with the labs, I already order (3) Smart Serial, I have (10) Cat 5 Straight Through on hand and I will make (2) Cat 5 Cross-over cables, as I have seen that most of the kits come with two of those.