Intro and Question

Carpe JugulemCarpe Jugulem Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
Good morning,

I'm pretty new to the Cisco world, but not that new to telecommunications equipment, in general. In the field I'm in, I have had the luxury of working on network alarms that pop up in commercial telecommunications applications. I'm in love with the concepts, so I figured it's high-time to do something with that passion I'm sure we all share.

So, I'm a thirty-something, hubby, father to two awesome kids, full time night shifter, and recent night school graduate... blah, blah, blah... I live in Texas these days, and it's really grown on the family and I! Well, except the heat!

Any way, so I'm going to go CCENT first. I think that will help me move along quicker as I tend to slack off without a kick in the @ss every now and then. I "so" want a lab because I love "tinkering." The more hands-on I have, the better.

So, budget aside for a minute... I was wondering what you all think of this kit:

Premium CCNA Security Lab Kit

I am planning on getting my CCENT, CCNA, CCNA Security, then CCNP. I would like to keep on going if possible, but my lab is really going to be the deciding factor as I don't have access to all the great equipment out there. So, is that kit a good start? Will be something good to build onto in the future?

Thanks for the help, and glad to have found a good forum for this type of discussion.

-CJ

Comments

• NetwurkNetwurk Member Posts: 1,155 ■■■■■□□□□□
    It's an OK lab set, but way overpriced versus building one on your own piece by piece.
  • miller811miller811 Member Posts: 897
    I would not spend that kind of money to start out with.