Where to start?

winner9909winner9909 Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am currently a Realtor and have been in that industry/mortgage industry since i graduated Highschool in 2002. The only post HS education i have are in real estate related fields. (sales licensure course, Pre broker Course). I am considering a career change to the IT field. I have no formal training but spend about 8 hours a day or so on the computer doing different every daythings( none which would be of any help getting an IT job)

If i wanted to pursue IT as a career path. Where should i begin? Which classes/certifications should i be looking into?

Comments

• apena7apena7 Member Posts: 351
    Welcome to TE!
    IT is an extremely broad field and before I can recommend any certifications, I'll introduce you to a few of the major career paths.

System Administration
    -Supporting your co-workers and making sure they're able to conduct business as usual. This usually entails knowledge of Windows XP & Windows 7 operating systems, Windows Server 2003 or Windows Server 2008 (file access and user permissions) and Microsoft Exchange Server (email). Microsoft offers certifications for just about every skill level and product.

Network Administration
    -Configuring routers and switches to make sure everyone is connected and their data travels as quickly as possible. Those that pursue this area go for the Cisco or Juniper certifications.

Database Administration
    -Everything runs off of databases in some form or another. Bank accounts, medical records, customer invoices, and the like are stored in databases and are administered using Oracle, IBM DB2, or Microsoft SQL Server software.

Software Development
    -Creating programs using popular languages like C++, C#, Java, Ruby, etc. Just remember that good programmers never show up to work early, but instead are there from the previous day because they pulled an all-nighter :).

IT Consulting