Realistic for passing CCENT?

TJ_MANTJ_MAN Registered Users Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
How realistic is it to try and study and pass the CCENT exam in 5-10 day. I have very little background in networking and just some basic knowledge. Do i even have a chance to pass or will this require much more time.

Comments

• SomnipotentSomnipotent Member Posts: 384
    TJ_MAN wrote: »
    How realistic is it to try and study and pass the CCENT exam in 5-10 day. I have very little background in networking and just some basic knowledge. Do i even have a chance to pass or will this require much more time.

not very realistic if you've never done networking before. you need to be able to master subnetting, understand routing principles, and know the command line. not having ever touched cisco IOS will probably hurt you. give yourself at least 2-3mns. i'm not a fan of boot camps. your goal is to UNDERSTAND everything, not just spew out answers to exam questions.

think of the ccent as building a soild foundation for the higher certs, and networking in general. they didn't build the pyramids in a week. getting your certs should be no different.
    Reading: Internetworking with TCP/IP: Principles, Protocols, and Architecture (D. Comer)
  • earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    not very realistic if you've never done networking before. you need to be able to master subnetting, understand routing principles, and know the command line. not having ever touched cisco IOS will probably hurt you. give yourself at least 2-3mns.

think of certifying things as building a soild foundation. they didn't build the pyramids in a week. getting your certs should be no different.
    +1 I'm planning to get into my CCENT/CCNA studies after I complete WGU and I'm giving myself about 2 months time for each test.

@OP I doubt you could even braindump in that period of time set forth
    No longer work in IT. Play around with stuff sometimes still and fix stuff for friends and relatives.