Virtual Server Setup

joey74055joey74055 Member Posts: 216
I am new to virtualization and was just wondering what is the best way to go on a setup. I want to have a virtual server with many instances running (for home lab use). If I use Ubuntu Server as the host OS then which virtual software should I use: hyper-v, vmware, or virtualbox? Also, Is Ubuntu Server a good OS to run as a host or should I use Windows Server 2003 or 2008? Thanks for your help.

Comments

• TherhinoTherhino Member Posts: 122
    I am really liking the virtual box with the php front end
  • hypnotoadhypnotoad Banned Posts: 915
    Well, for a lab system..

Virtualbox gives you the ability to do snapshots, so I use it sometimes
    VMware's desktop products have the ability to run pre-built apps from their "appstore" type site. So i use it sometimes.
    Hyper-V doesn't scare our windows-centric consultant so I use it sometimes.
  • MentholMooseMentholMoose Member Posts: 1,525 ■■■■■■■■□□
    For Hyper-V the only host option is Windows 2008, or Hyper-V Server (really just a stripped down 2008 install). The latter is available at no cost so you wouldn't have to deal with evaluation limits, however you couldn't use the machine as a desktop. If that is OK, you can also consider VMware ESXi and Citrix XenServer.

VirtualBox is available at no cost and can run on Windows or Linux, so take your pick. VMware Workstation also runs on Windows or Linux but is not free. For a Linux host I would go with VirtualBox since it seems to have fewer problems than with VMware Workstation.

I run Gentoo Linux on my desktop and laptop. This is unsupported by VMware Workstation and I have had various problems (basically OS updates frequently break VMware Workstation). I haven't had as many problems with VirtualBox. For my lab servers I only use VMware ESX (evaluation) or ESXi (free edition). I've also used Hyper-V Server and XenServer but prefer ESX/ESXi.
    MentholMoose
    MCSA 2003, LFCS, LFCE (expired), VCP6-DCV