Getting stuck on the why of subnetting

theGECKtheGECK Registered Users Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everybody, I think I'm going to like this board.

I'm studying for the N+ certification, and I just hit a chapter on subnetting in the book I'm using to study. Like what I gather to be many people before me, I got stuck. But I don't think I'm stuck in the same way. I seem to understand the numbers and how to get the number, but I don't quite understand what it all means, or what benefit it would be to use subnets. I think I'm getting stuck on it because I can't reconcile it with how our network was setup at work, and why it is that way.

In the network I work with (small network, only 60 computers), we use an IP in the 172.16.x.x range, and we use 255.255.255.0 as the subnet. Firstly, this seems to go against what I read where 255.255.0.0 was supposed to be the subnet for Class B addresses.

Secondly, I don't understand what "254 subnets with 254 hosts" means - I seem to be missing something very basic here and I don't know what it is. How does that work, exactly? From this site (Subnet Addressing - Network Computing), it seems that the subnet mask shows which bits to use as the host, and which are the network identifiers. Is that true?

So, this is what I think I understand. Subnets are used if you have a public IP address. You can specify them at the router level to divide your network as you go out. Somehow the routers will communicate to each other to allow the subnets to talk to each other (or do you have to have a DHCP server on each subnet?). So, for each subnet you need a router? I know you can do it via static IPs as well, but to do it though DHCP would you need some sort of server on each subnet...

I just keep going in circles and making myself more confused, so I'll stop for now. Hopefully I can clarify things and explain myself better if it's murky right now.