After how many certs can one break into entry-level IT?

Cert PoorCert Poor Member Posts: 240 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi guys. Short and sweet:

* Currently have A+. Should have Network+ within about 10 days. Security+ after that (ideally by October 31), followed by MCSE track (going for 2003 series before it's retired).

* I worked an IT-related job for only about 6 months. It's on the resume. Entry level management and database stuff and general in-house helpdesk. I landed this job with no certs. Started out as a temp data entry employee and was asked to apply for the position (created just for me). $14.50/hour + good benefits. IMHO it looks bad because I was there < 1 year. But I'm a full-time student so it's hard to juggle.

* Various other data entry jobs.

* Currently making peanuts ($7/hour after taxes) in a non-IT job and am scraping by financially. Not cool. Things are very rough.

* No Bachelor's yet. Have coursework in Engineering as well as Biology. Senior standing but still need about 2 years of Gen Ed, etc. So the university is on the resume but "in progress / Expected Graduation May 2012". Dunno if this makes me look like I will "leave" the job or not.

So my question is, if all I want is $12/hour (but will obviously accept anything higher), when should I start applying for IT jobs? I'm a perfectionist so I'll "never" be ready because I'll keep adding more certs. Will I be successful with just the A+ and Net+ and be able to land a $12/hour job? Craigslist lists a lot of entry-level jobs in the $12-20/hour range, but it seems too good to be true.

Thanks for your advice! I'm really needing a better paying job ASAP.
In progress: MTA: Database Fundamentals (98-364)
Next up: CompTIA Cloud Essentials+ (CLO-002) or LPI Linux Essentials (010-160)
Earned: CompTIA A+, Net+, Sec+, Server+, Proj+
ITIL-F v3 2011 | ServiceNow CSA, CAD, CIS | CWNP CWTS

Comments

• varelgvarelg Banned Posts: 790