Server+ Study Help

kinggeorge1987kinggeorge1987 Member Posts: 62 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey everyone, well I am a student at LCO(Lincoln College Online), a collge based in West Palm Florida offering online classes. I'm earning my Associates in NCIS /W Microsoft Programs. Some of you know me, but this is my fist time posting in the Server+ part of the board. So, here is my issue.

I am currently studying MAINLY for my A+ and Net+ exams, my school is paying for the A+ and I plan on taking that by December, but my current the current classes I am taking this term are Networking Tools and Techniques, and servers.

The networking I'm grasping fairly well, Lincoln has provided a TestOut's LabSim activation for the Network+, and also a Server+ Labsim for my server class, but I am getting smashed in the Server class, having trouble grasping it. I know I can, I just dont think I've found my groove, or learning style. Now since I am a student I have access to Microsofts Dreamspark, it has the Windows Server 2003 and 2008 NOS, and also offers their Virtual PC program. Now considering I have no experience with either of these tools I figured I should ask some of you experts.

Can installing these and utilizing them in different ways be of help ?
Is the Virtual PC program not the right tool to install this server on and 'play' with ?
What can I do to try and hone my skills, I have the LabSim, the text books, and I'm getting showed up on a daily basis by people who obviously have experience hands on. Now even though that probably shouldn't bother me due to the fact I've never even been within a foot of a server, it does. And Id like to atleast show everyone that I can do it, because I know I can. The grades in these two classes are VERY important to me, I need to pass them with 'flying colors'.

So will these two programs help me at all ?
Certification Goals

CompTIA A+ 701 & 702 - by December
CompTIA Network+ - by Feb 2011
CompTIA Server + - by May 2011 (At the latest)

Currently Studying