Is it really that bad?

jmritenourjmritenour Member Posts: 565
I'm a long time administrator who's only recently began to care about certs, and I'm taking 70-290 in a couple weeks. I've got experience with Windows server platforms dating back to NT 3.51, though I've mostly been dealing with Netware/OES the last couple years (I work in K-12, the last stronghold Novell really seems to have). I haven't been doing as much with Active Directory recently as I'd like, but with the handful of Windows 2003/2008 servers we have, I've done a lot of AD to eDirectory/LDAP stuff that's allowed me to keep up on it somewhat.

Anyway, I feel pretty confident from going over the MS press book, and a handful of practice test collections I've found. I've also got the ExamCram guide for this test to get some final prep in. Are there any "gotcha" areas that get overlooked on this test? I don't want to have a false sense of confidence, but I really don't see anything on the exam guidelines that looks particularly challenging, given my experience with the platform.
"Start by doing what is necessary, then do what is possible; suddenly, you are doing the impossible." - St. Francis of Assisi

Comments

• ZartanasaurusZartanasaurus Member Posts: 2,008 ■■■■■■■■■□
    290 is the easiest in the MCSE series and it's not even close. Know backups and group/file permissions really well and you're set.
    Currently reading:
    IPSec VPN Design 44%
    Mastering VMWare vSphere 5​ 42.8%
  • subl1m1nalsubl1m1nal Member Posts: 176
    Its been a while since I've taken it, but I agree. It's mostly questions on AD, permissions, and group policy. Also keeps a heads up for simulations. Check over the exam requirements and cover any grey areas you may have. Although, if you've been using M$ server since NT days, you should have no problem.
    Currently Working On: 70-643 - Configuring Windows Server 2008 Applications Infrastructure

Plans for 2010: MCITP:EA and CCNA
    70-648 - Done