Options

Your CCNP approach

spartangtrspartangtr Member Posts: 111
When I did the CCNA I studied for each exam seperately because one built on the other but such is not the case with CCNP. For those of you studying or for those who have already passed did you study for 1 exam at a time, take the exam, then move on? Or did you study for multiple exams at once then just review before taking each exam?

Comments

• Options
    stuh84stuh84 Member Posts: 503
    One at a time, so its easier to concentrate on each ones concept. With the BSCI/ROUTE, you're sticking at layer 3 so everything has something in common. With BCMSN/SWITCH, you're sticking at layer 2 (mostly, if you dont count the chapter on multilayer switching) so everything has something in common.

It just makes a lot more sense to me to think in a layer while studying. Obviously you have to put it all together (which is what the TSHOOT does, and real life will do too)
    Work In Progress: CCIE R&S Written

CCIE Progress - Hours reading - 15, hours labbing - 1
  • Options
    mikearamamikearama Member Posts: 749
    Yeah, what stuh said.
    There are only 10 kinds of people... those who understand binary, and those that don't.

CCIE Studies: Written passed: Jan 21/12 Lab Prep: Hours reading: 385. Hours labbing: 110

Taking a time-out to add the CCVP. Capitalizing on a current IPT pilot project.
  • Options
    PhildoBagginsPhildoBaggins Member Posts: 276
    I am pretty close to taking ICND2, I plan on immediately jumping into SWITCHING, then ROUTING, then TSHOOT.
  • Options
    davidspirovalentinedavidspirovalentine Member Posts: 353 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I guess it all depends on how you like to study, I have friends that have studied for a year straight and the knocked out the MCSE taking 1 exam every day in a week.

Then again, for the CCNP I am doing exactly what stuh said. I sat the ROUTE, then the SWITCH and now I have to do the TSHOOT (hopefully next week)...