Yes another lab setup question!

tha_dubtha_dub Member Posts: 262
Alright before someone flames me I've looked and can't find the answers. :)

I'm currently studying for IIUC and then plan to go on to ccvp probably cvoice 8 first.

I currently have:
2611 non xm
1760 with CME loaded and max ram/flash. no vic cards
2950C 24 port switch
2900xl switch

According to this thread
http://www.techexams.net/forums/ccna-voice/49420-ccna-voice-lab-home.html

I should be almost good except I think I need a layer 3 switch and some VIC cards for IIUC studies. Obviously less $$$ is ideal but I'm willing to spend a little more on a piece of hardware if I can get multiple uses out of it. I'm not doing this stuff at work daily so I really need to be able to lab everything

What layer 3 switch should I buy?

As far as the VIC cards go I'm thinking of just buying another 1760 with them already loaded so I have two CME boxes. Is this worth the money or can I get something else that will take me further in the CCVP studies?

Thanks!

Comments

• mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I don't see where you need a layer 3 switch for the CCNA Voice. You just need a switch that supports voice and data VLANs. And the QoS tasks look like describe, rather than configure.

The CCNA Voice looks like a "single site" deployment model -- or a single small branch of one of the the other deployment models. You can use your home phone line connected to an FXO port (VIC-2FXO) -- just don't practice any 911 emergency calls. An FXS port (VIC-2FXS) will let you plug in an analog phone (or laptop modem or fax machine). To support the FXS/FXO ports in your 1760 you'd need DSPs (PVDM installed).