Options

Question about IT job and career path.

s0c0s0c0 Member Posts: 76 ■■□□□□□□□□
First some background: I have been doing tech support for 8 months now and prior to that an internship for 3 months. I will have my Associates of Applied Science in Computer Network Systems in under 6 months. I will also be taking my CCNA exam soon and continueing with other certs. Now thats out of the way.

I have been offered a job doing basic web design (html, css, photoshop). This isn't something I'd like do do forever, but I would go from making $10.50/hr to $13/hr and I would enjoy the change in job function as well. My question is would taking this job negatively impact my goal of becoming involved in networking and server administration? Should I stay where I am at so I can get at least a year before seriously looking for another job?

Comments

• Options
    WebmasterWebmaster Admin Posts: 10,292 Admin
    Hard to say, but I think different HR people have very different views. Personally, I think it would not be a step in the right direction. Sure you can learn new interesting skills, but those would not relate much to network/server admin.
  • Options
    johnnynodoughjohnnynodough Member Posts: 634
    I would leave that company that is paying you 10.50 (were talking USD right?) an hour, that is really low even for entry level. I wouldnt take a web design job though, I would look for another tech support job.
    Go Hawks - 7 and 2

2 games againts San Fran coming up, oh yeah baby, why even play? just put then in the win category and call it good :p
  • Options
    You are probably right about it not being a step in my direction (though not a bad direction I guess).