Opinion about certification track

N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
As some of you might know and some might not I am a help desk tech tier 2. I've been doing this type of work for several years in some form of capacity for a while now, except for a 6 month stint when I was more involved in transition / project management.

Anyway all pride aside I felt the need to get some network training, because quite frankly I am not that knowledgable in networking.

So I decided to make it my next certification, because I also do a lot of Cisco troubleshooting and WAN and LAN troubleshooting, not to mention I use Netview QoS, Tivoli and few more monitoring tools. I've kind of grown into this position and I enjoy it. Infact I made a post about it a few months ago where I got a skillset promotion, not financial.

Anyway I thought I would default to the experts. Let's say I get my network + sometime in November. In your opinion would it I be better off doing security +, which I don't really use, but in someways I do, or A+, to validate that I understand the basic workings of a desktop/laptop and other devices. There is no way I can do all 3 out before the 31st, or else this would be a moot point.

Again I am looking for you opinions and if you could provide a reason why, that would be even better. Believe me I do listen and that is why I am taking network + right now.

And if you feel neither are a good investment that's cool too.

Thanks a bunch

Patrick

Comments

• TurgonTurgon Banned Posts: 6,308 ■■■■■■■■■□
    You are already doing N+ so finish that and then press on with the CCNA
  • MentholMooseMentholMoose Member Posts: 1,525 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Turgon wrote: »
    You are already doing N+ so finish that and then press on with the CCNA
    Agreed. A CCNA and experience to back it up is a good combination that will help you get into a more specialized role should you desire one.
    MentholMoose
    MCSA 2003, LFCS, LFCE (expired), VCP6-DCV