Tips for Cissp

GimmynoGimmyno Member Posts: 59 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey Guys, I'm currently studying for Cissp with Shon's AIO book and her Video Training, I find very challenging to answer correctly the practice questions at the end of each domain....I can barely reach 60% of correct answers out of 30...any tips guys?Can you also share your experiences?

Cheers Guys, appreciate it.

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    There's not a lot you can do besides continuing to work with the material until it sinks in. Maybe try another resource or two and see if they explain/present the concepts in a way that you better understand (no resource is perfect and everyone has different learning styles).

Having said that, the actual exam questions are significantly more convoluted and difficult than those, so adjust your expectations accordingly.
  • Chris:/*Chris:/* Member Posts: 658 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I found that Shon's book was really good for getting into the details but at the same time there was a lot of fluff in it. She really tried to cover all her bases with the types of people that would be reading it. Look at www.cccure.org, that site has a number of already canned study guides which can help you conentrate on what is important.

The three CISSP I have met told me that the big thing with the CISSP is understanding the material to answer complex questions. Instead of being an endurance test (memorize and repeat) I was told it is an analytical test (memorize, understand and apply).
    Degrees:
    M.S. Information Security and Assurance
    B.S. Computer Science - Summa Cum Laude
    A.A.S. Electronic Systems Technology
  • dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Chris:/* wrote: »
    The three CISSP I have met told me that the big thing with the CISSP is understanding the material to answer complex questions. Instead of being an endurance test (memorize and repeat) I was told it is an analytical test (memorize, understand and apply).