Options

Can someone translate this Cisco command to Juniper?

kronicklezkronicklez Member Posts: 40 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

Need your help to translate below Cisco command into juniper.
I already test using Junos translator but no good result.

Is it same in Cisco " router ospf 1" same with juniper "set protocol ospf area 1"?

Need your advise. Thanks.

Cisco

router ospf 1

network 192.168.100.2 0.0.0.0 area 0
network 192.168.200.2 0.0.0.0 area 0

Comments

• Options
    msteinhilbermsteinhilber Member Posts: 1,480 ■■■■■■■■□□
    In the Cisco world, the 1 in router ospf is the process-id. Your backbone area would still be area 0 - process id is being used by Cisco to specify which instance of OSPF is running in case you have an advanced configuration with multiple OSPF processes on a single router. Junos can do that as well, with routing-instances I believe - but I'm still learning my way through the Juniper world so I may be wrong there. In Junos, you would have the hierarchy you configure ospf under for area 0 be as follows:

edit protocols ospf area 0 <-- this will translate to 0.0.0.0

If you do just "set protocols ospf area 0" you'll get an error like missing argument, because your not really setting anything - just specifying the hierarchy you'd like to place a configuration without any actual configuration change. You'll have to add the interface option at the end to specify which interfaces you're going to include in the area.

EDIT: BTW, Juniper has a LOT of very nice free e-books and other resources available if you're new to their gear. There is a couple of sticky posts in the forum that highlight most of them and will give you just about everything you would probably need to know and then some.
  • Options
    kronicklezkronicklez Member Posts: 40 ■■□□□□□□□□