getting to the level 1 helpdesk

pbankeypbankey Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys,

I made another smiliar thread a couple of days ago, but I wanted to go into the meat of a certain aspect of my "dilemma" that I'm hoping might allow me to ask my questions and get answers more directly about what I hope to achieve.

My goal is to get into IT. I graduated college in May (marketing/management double major), the job experience I've had are pretty much a typical part-time job at a grocery store -- checking groceries and operating a photo lab, and a freelance photography business that focused mainly on portraits and weddings. Basically, my experience with IT in a working-sense is little to none, and I'm worried about even entry-level IT things.

I'm going to buckle down and get A+ out of the way -- ideally before the new year to secure the lifetime certification. I have study materials for Network+ but I plan to secure the A+ before I delve into that world.

I've talked to a couple of people and they say I might be okay with those certs to get a level 1 helpdesk position, but I've heard others tell me I need experience even for level 1. I've looked at job listings in and around town for level 1 helpdesk and they generally require 2 years of prior experience... which has me baffled. I've read a lot of the posts in these forums too about helpdesk positions and it seems that even experienced individuals are having a hard time getting a job like this which, quite frankly, scares me to death.