Passed Sec +

topper24501topper24501 Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey I passed the Sec + today with the score of 892. I was surprised when I saw that score. My results showed only three objectives wrong.

I used Darril Gibsons book, Transcender, And I took every term from each chapter of Darril's book and made flash cards.

I scored around 83-88% on Transcenders Test. I think transcender was harder than the actual exam.

I studied for a total of 2 months about 3-4 days a week, after my xbox 360 (RROD) and PS3 (YLOD) overheated and died on me.

One of the main things I did was narrow each question down to two answers and use logic. For example, If it ask you what monitors and prevent questionable network traffic. It cannot be a NIDS or HIDS because that only detects. So it has to be NIPS. Or if it ask, what detects questionable traffic to a local server. You throw out any answer dealing with network devices like like NIDS b/c it is asking about a local machine.

Hopefully, I not breaking any rules by saying this but I believe it will help people is they read every question fully and understand what they are asking for.

Also, please know the difference between the major encryption algorithms (AES, 3DES) and hashes (SHA and MD5). Know which ones are symmetric and which ones are asymmetric. Also, know which ones are used for encrypting, hashing, non-repudiation, mobile devices.

And last but not least, make sure when you are stuck at a answer Say to yourself, "think security".. It will clear up alot of answers. Most of the time you will come up with the best answer.

Thanks to this forum for introducing me to Darril's Book.

Darril, I live in Portsmouth, VA so I owe you dinner at the Cheescake Factory @ town center or Ruth's Chris. HAHA

My requirement's to the DOD is over and I can go back to my Solaris and Citrix training.icon_study.gif
Network+ CE
Security+ CE
MCITP: SA
OCP - Solaris 10
CISSP

Comments

• ajmatsonajmatson Member Posts: 289
    Congrats on the pass :)